x

Troublesome Bridesmaid Situation…

Home Forums Bothered brides Troublesome Bridesmaid Situation…

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Kittikats 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

LaurenA

Hi all!
    I am new to The Knot forum, so my apologies if issues like this one have been recycled and recycled…
    My wedding is March next year, and I am having some major issues (and anxiety) about what to do with my bridesmaids. I knew from the outset that I wanted my cousin and a very good friend of mine, who I have known since I was a teenager, and that was fine…however, I have another friend who I had been close to from 7 years old up until the past couple of years. Our lives have gone in completely different directions, and she’s become more of a sister that I see on occassion rather than a friend…however she’s the type of person who would seriously get her nose out of joint for not getting a bridesmaid position. We still get along brilliantly, and as far as I’m concerned, she’ll always be a part of my life…however my other friend (who I have asked to be a bridesmaid) has been more of a ‘friend’ to me over the past couple of years than she has been.
    Now, my fiance doesn’t have a lot of guy friends (or girl friends…neither of us have a large social group…at all) and has decided he wants to have my twin brothers as his groomsmen…so, everyone’s immediate suggestion to my problem is ‘oh, just tell her there’s only two spots and she didn’t make the cut’…that’s all well and good, but it doesn’t resolve the fact that her feelings may get seriously hurt if I have to outright tell her she’s not going to be a bridesmaid. The other suggestion I seem to get is ‘don’t tell her, she’ll figure it out’…but I feel like that’s unfair. We promised one another as kids we’d be each other’s bridesmaids…and now look. Very frustrating.