x

His second engagement… how should his family act?

Home Forums Planning & etiquette His second engagement… how should his family act?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  HappyG 2 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Hi Ladies,
    I am new to this page so apologies if this has been discussed but I have looked for insight everywhere and can’t find it?
    My SO and I have been together for three years and are talking about engagement.  He has the ring and everything, and the only thing that is stopping us is his previous engagement.  We both are fine with each others pasts, and that isn’t the issue, what is the issue is more a case of simply not knowing the etiquette. 
    His family at the time of his engagement threw a huge engagement party for him and his ex, inviting all the family and showering them in gifts.  When they called off their engagement, they did not return any of the presents due to a couple of years passing in between.
    Now we are discussing this, I can’t help but wonder what to expect.  I get along wonderfully with his whole family, and they love me, but I also understand if I can’t expect them to behave the same way they did before.  I find it particularly difficult to anticipate the reactions of his extended family, who are not close.  My mother does not have any financial way to throw me an engagement party, though I think there are other family members who may rise to the occasion, however if that happens, should I let them know that gifts are not expected?  Do we even have an engagement party at all, or just focus on the wedding planning (something that never really got off the ground with the ex) at the same time our families are quite traditional, so I’m scared of offending them if I go without the party.

Sorry for the long post, but has anyone else been in this situation before or have any advice?

Much love x

BecT86